What happens if Coinbase closes your account

Deleting a Coinbase account - this is how it's done

Crypto exchanges

If you no longer use Coinbase, you should delete your account.
Coinbase is a platform where you can easily buy or sell cryptocurrencies like bitcoins. If you no longer want to use the online platform or no longer need it, it is advisable to delete the account. In the following we will show you how to do this.
  1. First, go to the Coinbase website.
  2. Then log in one last time with your login data.
  3. Now click on "Settings" and then on the "Security" button.
  4. Scroll down to the very bottom and click on "Close Account".
  5. You will then be informed that you have to withdraw your credit before closing, otherwise it will be lost.
  6. After you have transferred your remaining balance to your bank account, you can press "Close account" again.
  7. Now you have to enter your password again as confirmation.
  8. Then select the red button labeled “Close account”. Your account will be removed from the Coinbase platform in the next step. Please note that a deletion cannot be undone.

Give away Coinbase credit

If you do not want your Coinbase credit to be paid out, you can transfer it to other Coinbase users instead of to a bank account. To do this, select the credit payout and then enter the data of another Coinbase user.