How many counties are there in Vermont

Essex , County, northeast Vermont, USA, is bordered to the north by Quebec, Canada, and to the east by New Hampshire, the Connecticut River forms this boundary. It is a mountainous region with several peaks over 915 meters. The Connecticut River watershed includes the Moose and Nulhegan Rivers and Paul Stream. Maidstone Lake and Great Averill and Island Ponds are among the numerous small lakes. Recreational areas include Maidstone and Brighton State Parks, Victory State Forest, and Brighton Municipal Forest. Essex is one of the most densely forested counties in Vermont with an abundance of spruce, fir, birch and maple trees. There are also many species of animals in the region, especially moose.

Guildhall was founded in 1764 and was one of the oldest colonial settlements in northeast Vermont. It is now the county seat. The county was founded in 1792 and named after Essex, England. In 1853 Island Pond became the midpoint between Montreal and Portland, Maine, along the Grand Trunk Railway, the first international railroad in North America. Located near the Canadian border, Canaan was one of the northernmost American subway stations. Other parishes are Lunenburg, Concord, and Bloomfield.

The economy is focused on the county's forest resources that support the wood, paper, and furniture industries. Area 667 square miles (1,723 square kilometers). Pop. (2000) 6,459; (2010) 6.306.